The purpose of research – Honoring the gift.

Dominant media representations of South Auckland and young people speaking back.

Who represents the Southside?

Often I have been asked why I decided to do my research, I mean what is the point of it? Obviously, from person to person the reasoning behind their research will be different.  However, I felt there was a need for someone (such as myself), in a privileged position and space of colonial power (within the University setting) to take the opportunity to help others (who were not in a position of power) to speak back and have their voices heard.  Although the research is based in my community, the purpose of it is not to voice my opinions, but to encourage others to speak out to structures of power that keep some marginalised and powerless.

Part of being in my privileged position is to share my research with others in order for awareness to spread regarding the issues to do with the way marginalised communities such as South Auckland and the people…

View original post 719 more words

Leave a Reply

